Air Quality Stewardship Awards

AACOG’s Air Quality Stewardship Awards annually recognize businesses, agencies, schools, and other organizations that have made significant voluntary efforts to reduce air pollution.  Any organization with a physical presence within San Antonio or one of its eight surrounding counties* that has helped to improve air quality is eligible for this award. 

The theme for the 2018 Air Quality Stewardship Awards, which were bestowed in April, was "air quality improvement through transportation alternatives." The 2018 awardees were honored during the San Antonio Fiesta Earth Day event at 12:00 p.m. on April 21 in Woodlawn Lake Park.  The award-winning organizations appear alphabetically below:  

The City of San Antonio, Office of Sustainability was recognized for its Breathe Today, SA Tomorrow public education campaign, which, through various avenues including TV, radio, print, social media. blogs, community meetings, and an Air Quality Summit, created a greater community awareness of the need for cleaner air and the ways in which individuals and businesses can help to improve it.  

VIA Metropolitan Transit was recognized for its commitment to and progress toward its goal to transform its entire fleet of 507 buses from diesel to cleaner, alternative fuels by 2020.
  The agency converted more than half of its existing fleet to Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) buses over the spring and summer of last year, and will add 62 new CNG buses by July of 2018, raising the total to 79 percent of its fleet to CNG, hybrid, or electric.

Nomination and Award Process

Nominations for the 2018 Air Quality Stewardship Awards were accepted by AACOG's Commute Solutions program through November 30, 2017. The Commute Solutions program then contacted nominated organizations to request additional information. That information was evaluated by a review commitee called together by the Commute Solutions Program.  That program's recommendations were presented to AACOG’s Air Improvement Resources (AIR) Executive Committee at their March 28, 2018 meeting.  

Recent Air Quality Stewardship Awards Recipients

2017- Alamo Heights Independent School District, City of Leon Valley, Patrick Heath Public Library, Resolute Health Hospital, YMCA of Greater San Antonio
2016 - DoSeum, A-AAA Key Mini Storage Solar (project of Brundage Management Company), ECHO Data Center (project of CPS Energy), RideShare and vCommuter Center Program (project of Joint Base San Antonio), University Hospital Sky Tower(project of University Health System), and VIA VILLA: Centro Plaza (project of VIA Metropolitan Transit).
2015 – San Antonio Missions National Park, Eco Centro (project of San Antonio College), Skymine (project of Skyonic and Zachry Corporations)
2014 – Bexar County, CEMEX Balcones Cement Plant, and Phil Hardberger Park Conservancy
2013 – Lake|Flato Architects
2012 – City of Leon Valley, Eagle Veterinary Hospital, HOLT Cat
2011 – Build San Antonio Green, Clothesline Cleaners, Corbo Electric, Episcopal Church of Reconciliation, USAA

* Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson Counties.