News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/7/2020 10:26:12 AM to 2/18/2020 5:05:04 PM.

News Flash

Air Quality News

Posted on: January 7, 2020

[ARCHIVED] TCEQ Hosting Public Hearing on 179B SIP Revision February 18 at 2 PM at AACOG

Please join the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) for a public hearing on the 179B demonstration State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision.  The public hearing will be Tuesday, February 18, 2020, at 2:00 PM at the Alamo Area Council of Governments' Al J. Notzon III Board Room (8700 Tesoro Drive, Suite 100, San Antonio, TX 78217).  The TCEQ will be holding a public Q&A session at 1:30 PM.  

What is a 179B demonstration?  The Federal Clean Air Act, §179B allows States “… to consider in their attainment plans and demonstrations whether an area might meet the ozone NAAQS by the attainment date ’but for’ emissions contributing to the area originating outside the U.S.” (80 FR 65444).  If the EPA approves the 179B demonstration SIP Revision for Bexar County, it may avoid a reclassification to moderate event if it does not meet the ozone standard by the September 24, 2021 attainment date.  

The TCEQ has made available the draft 179B demonstration SIP revision for Bexar County, which can be found here.  The TCEQ presented preliminary findings from its 179B analysis at AACOG on September 26, 2019.  A live stream of that presentation is available here.  

The public comment period will open on January 17, 2020 and close on February 19, 2020.  Please note that the public hearing occurs one day before the close of the public comment period.  Written comments will be accepted via mail, fax, or through the eComments system.  All comments should reference the “Bexar County 2015 Eight-Hour Ozone Nonattainment Area FCAA, §179B Demonstration SIP Revision” and should reference Project Number 2019-106-SIP-NR.  Comments may be submitted to Brian Foster, MC 206, State Implementation Plan Team, Air Quality Division, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087 or faxed to (512) 239-6188.  If you choose to submit electronic comments, they must be submitted through the eComments system.  File size restrictions may apply to comments being submitted via the eComments system.  Comments must be received by February 19, 2020.  

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Air Quality News