2017 Air Quality Stewardship Awards

Each year, through its Air Quality Stewardship Awards, the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) recognizes businesses, agencies, and other organizations that are making outstanding voluntary efforts to reduce air pollution and help improve air quality in the Alamo Region. The 2017 awardees will be honored at an award ceremony taking place during the Fiesta Earth Day event at 1:00 p.m. on April 22 in Woodlawn Lake Park in San Antonio.
The five organizations to be honored appear alphabetically below:

  • Alamo Heights Independent School District will receive the Teaching by Example award for its many energy efficient features, such as solar arrays at each of its buildings, which readily provide teachable moments for students.
  • City of Leon Valley will receive the Trailblazer Award for its leadership in facilitating alternative transportation choices for its residents and adopting local enforcement of an idling limitation rule for heavy-duty vehicles.
  • Patrick Heath Public Library of Boerne will receive the Above and Beyond Award for rebuilding its facility along LEED Gold standards, reducing its energy use by 17.5 percent.
  • Resolute Health Hospital of New Braunfels (Baptist Health System) will receive the Holistic Health Award for taking preventative measures to protect public health in the construction of its new hospital.
  • YMCA of Greater San Antonio will receive the Active Transportation Award for creating a fun and safe atmosphere in which participants of its bi-annual Síclovía event may consider biking and walking as transportation choices.

For the past four years, levels of ozone in San Antonio’s air have been measured higher than allowed by federal clean air standards. Prolonged exposure to ground-level ozone particularly threatens the health of children, people who are active outdoors, and those with respiratory illnesses.
This fall, the Environmental Protection Agency may designate the San Antonio area in non-attainment of federal ozone standards. This designation may prompt restrictions on manufacturing, infrastructure, and business expansion in an effort to clean up our air that could result in a significant impact to our economy.
Reflecting on the Air Quality Stewardship Award recipients, Roger Arriaga, AACOG’s Director of Natural Resources, comments, “Improving our air is a challenge that requires a shared commitment from everyone in our community, and this years’ awardees are wonderful examples of the kinds of efforts we need to collectively keep our air clean.”

Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus