Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting December 13, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 4. Ms. Lisa Brothers and Mr. Todd Perna
- 5. Dr. David Carrothers
- 6. Ms. Rori Boone for Dr. Allen Castro
- 7. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 8. Chief Linette Dury
- 9. Ms. Vickie Ernst and Ms. Jennifer Forbes
- 10. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 11. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 12. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 13. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 14. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 15. Ms. Monica Torres for Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 16. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 17. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 18. Major Matthew Miller
- 19. Ms. Abigail Moore
- 20. Deputy Chief Armando Olquin
- 21. Ms. Melissa Padron and Ms. Marina Garcia
- 22. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 23. Captain Jerry Rios
- 24. Chief Justin Soza for Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez
- 25. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry and Mr. Mike Davis
- 26. Mr. Jeffrey McLaughlin for Captain Michael Starnes
- 27. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 28. Ms. Kayla Trigo Prado for Ms. Brenda Trevino
- 29. Ms. Samantha Wohler
- 30. Mr. Renan Zambrano

MEMBERS ABSENT:

- 1. Judge Rochelle Camacho
- 2. Sgt. Corey Delgado
- 3. Ms. Brooke House
- 4. Chief Lewis Lem

STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 3. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 4. Ms. Cami Goldspink, Criminal Justice Planner

- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:35 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the November 8th, 2023, Minutes.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

5. Program Updates

1. No monthly CJD Meetings were held.

AACOG staff did confirm with TARC that these meetings are set to begin again next year.

2. The registration link for the grant workshops was sent out and is on the AACOG website.

Confirmation should have been sent in the form of an Outlook invite. Please contact Cami if you have registered via the link but have not received an outlook invite for the Grant Applicant Workshop you registered for.

3. Zengine II by WizeHive Application Portal Preview.

A portal preview was shown on how the portal platform will look when you go in as an applicant. Applicants will have one log-in to use, and the system will allow them to apply for multiple agencies/organizations. If you are in both roles as an applicant and a reviewer/scorer, you will have a login as an applicant and a separate reviewer login which we will add a modifier to your login ID example: cami+77@aacog.com – the +77 is the modifier and then of course create a password that you will remember. As a reviewer you will have access to view the grant summary form, the summary from eGrants, the signed workshop acknowledgement form and the score tool. Scoring training is scheduled to take place in February & March 2024.

6. Discussion and appropriate action on the CJAC Score Tool:

There was discussion about giving bonus points for agencies providing victim services. This can be done by AACOG staff after scoring is complete.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walters** to approve the score tool as presented.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

7. Discussion and appropriate action on the membership items:

- 1. Nominating **Chief Roel "Eddie" Salas** as Dr. David Carrothers' alternate representative for Karnes County.
- 2. Nominating **Chief Peter Salinas** as Judge Rochelle Camacho's first alternate representative for Frio County.
- 3. Nominating **Lt. John Meyer** as Judge Rochelle Camacho's second alternate representative for Frio County.

A motion was made by **Chief Henry Dominguez** and seconded by **Dr. David Carrothers** to accept the above membership items.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

8. Discussion and appropriate action on the Chair and Vice Chair Nominations:

There were ballots passed out for Chair and Vice Chair for the members present in person. The members attending online voted by placing their vote in the main chat or by private chat if preferred.

The votes were tallied for Chair then Vice Chair and the results were:

Chair by majority vote was **Ms. Hattie Allen**. Vice Chair by majority vote was **Ms. Samantha Wohler** They will take office in January 2024.

9. Announcements

Dennis Rosenberry received an award for his service as CJAC Chair and he will be retiring this year.

10. Items to be placed on the next meeting's agenda.

NA

11. Next meeting date: January 10th, 2023 @1:30pm.

12. Adjournment

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Chief Henry Dominguez** to adjourn.

All Approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:45.