Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting Wednesday, Jan 11, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 4. Ms. Mia Buentello-Garcia
- 5. Dr. Allen Castro
- 6. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 7. Chief Linette Dury
- 8. Ms. Lisa Brothers for Ms. Miriam Elizondo
- 9. Ms. Vickie Ernst and Ms. Jennifer Forbes
- 10. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 11. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 12. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 13. Ms. Holly Aldridge for Ms. Brook House
- 14. Ms. Shelly Jackson
- 15. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 16. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 17. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 18. Ms. Vickie Adams for Ms. Abigail Moore
- 19. Ms. Maribell Neril
- 20. Ms. Melissa Padron
- 21. Ms. Michelle Driffill for Chief Johnny Reyes, Jr.
- 22. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry
- 23. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 24. Ms. Brenda Trevino
- 25. Ms. Samantha Wohler

MEMBERS ABSENT:

- 1. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 2. Mr. Will Leal
- 3. Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 4. Captain Michael Starnes

STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Mr. Matthew Reyes, Homeland Security Planner
- 3. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 4. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:30 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the November 9th, 2022 Minutes.

A motion was made by **Dr. Allen Castro** and seconded by **Lt. Brian Pehl** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

5. Discussion and appropriate action on membership items:

- **1.** Nominating **Lisa Brothers** to replace Miriam Elizondo as the primary representative from Bexar County.
- 2. Nominating Miriam Elizondo as Lisa Brother's alternate for Bexar County
- 3. Nominating **Devon Wilborn** as Willie Leal's alternate for Atascosa County
- **4.** Nominating **Chief Deputy Joshua Ray** as the primary representative for Guadalupe County
- **5.** Nominating **Chief Nick Reininger** as Chief Deupty Joshua Ray's alternate for Guadalupe County
- **6.** Nominating **Dr. David J. Carrothers** as the primary representative for Guadalupe County
- **7.** Nominating **Holly Aldridge** to replace Sonja Gutierrez as Brooke House's alternate for Kendall County.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Chief Henry Dominguez** to approve the above membership items except for item #3 which was tabled.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

6. Program Updates.

- 1. Hosted two CDJ Grant Workshops. There were 108 agencies represented and 159 individuals present.
- 2. RFSs for all funding streams were released. There are no major changes in these documents. There is a new CEO/NGO form certification form to fill out.
- 3. Amendments to CJAC Bylaws were approved by AACOG Board of Directors. Staff is sending out letters to all judges to try and get seats filled by April.
- 4. Upcoming CJAC scoring trainings will be in Feb & Mar. Invitations will be sent out to members with survey to self-identify COI.

Staff passed out the list of FY 22-23 Grant fundings per OOG for all funding streams. It shows all changes made by OOG after scoring meetings and approvals. The VOCA grants were funded partially with ARPA funds.

7. Items to be placed on next Meeting's agenda

8. Next meeting date: February 8th, 2023 @1:30pm. This date conflicts with TARC so Marcela Medina will probably staff meeting. If we need to cancel then we will send a notice out.

9. Announcements

None

10. Adjournment

A motion was made by **Ms. Jennifer Forbes** and seconded by **Chief Henry Dominguez to adjourn.**

All approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:00pm.