## Agenda

## Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee March 8, 2023 - 1:30pm 2700 NE Loop 410, Suite 101 San Antonio, TX 78217

Request All Electronic Devices Be Silenced

The Alamo Area Council of Governments will be conducting this hybrid meeting in accordance with the Open Meeting Act, as defined by section 551.001 (4) (F) (2) and Texas Government Code Section 551.127, for virtual attendance, and pursuant to the AACOG Bylaws Article 4, Item 4 - temporary amendment, permitting public bodies to meet in person, virtually and telephonically.

The Chair of the CJAC will preside, in person, at the physical location indicated above.

Please note the following important Open Meeting Act rule:

If attending virtually, you must keep audio and video communication open at all time,
such that video communication is of sufficient quality so that members of the public at each location can observe
your demeanor and hear your voice during the open portion of the meeting.

A black video screen will nullify your attendance and voting privilege.

Attendance in person will be at the physical location indicated above
 Attendance virtually by using the hyperlink indicated below or
 Attendance by phone will be for listening purposes only

If accessing virtually, please join the meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone at: <a href="https://meet.goto.com/AACOGPublicSafety/cjac-meetings">https://meet.goto.com/AACOGPublicSafety/cjac-meetings</a>
You may dial in using your phone - for listening purposes only - by dialing
+1 866 899 4679, enter Access Code: 170-159-317

Public Comments Instructions:

Members of the public who would like to address the CJAC may register and attend the meeting in person at the physical location indicated above.

All registration for public comments will conclude by 2:00 p.m.

- Meeting called to Order.
- Roll Call.
- Public Comments

This time is for anyone to comment to the Advisory Committee on issues and items of concern. There will be no deliberation or action on these comments. Time allowed is at the discretion of the Chairman, with three (3) minutes being customary.

- 4. Consider and act upon approval of the January 11, 2023 minutes.
- 5. Consider and act upon membership items:
  - Renominating Dennis Rosenberry for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
  - 2. Renominating Eladia Torres for another term as a primary member for Wilson County.
  - 3. Renominating Audrey Lewis as Eladia Torres' alternate for Wilson County.
  - 4. Renominating Nicole Bishop for another term as a primary member for Kendall County.
  - 5. Renominating Glennda Wilke as Nicole Bishop's alternate for Kendall County.
  - 6. Renominating Shelly Jackson for another term as a primary member for Guadalupe County.
  - 7. Renominating Chief Bryan Hugghins as Shelly Jackson's alternate for Guadalupe County.
  - 8. Renominating Vickie Ernst for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
  - 9. Renominating Jennifer Forbes as Vickie Ernst's alternate for Bexar County.
  - Renominating Henry Dominguez for another term as a primary member for Atascosa County.
  - 11. Renominating Jessica Tom as Henry Dominguez's alternate for Atascosa County.
  - 12. Renominating Lt. Mary Krebs for another term as a primary member for Kerr County.
  - 13. Renominating Constable Paul Gonzales as Lt. Mary Krebs' alternate for Kerr County.

- 14. Renominating Hattie Allen for another term as a primary member for Gillespie County.
- 15. Renominating Brian Vorauer as Hattie Allen's alternate for Gillespie County.
- 16. Renominating Sheriff Buddy Mills for another term as a primary member for Gillespie County.
- 17. Renominating Lt. Brian Pehl as Sheriff Buddy Mills' alternate for Gillespie County.
- 18. Renominating DA Joe Gonzalez for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
- 19. Renominating Ellen Wheeler-Walter as DA Joe Gonzalez's alternate for Bexar County.
- 20. Renominating Chief JPO Linette Dury for another term as a primary member for Medina County.
- 21. Renominating Captain Danny Bowermaster for another term as a primary member for Bandera County.
- 22. Renominating Alma Baker as Captain Danny Bowermaster's alternate for Bandera County.
  - 1. Nominating Monica Torres as Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison's alternate for Bexar County.
- 2. Nominating Roxanne Morales Gonzales as Allen Castro's alternate for Bexar County.
- 3. Nominating Frank Garcia as Linette Dury's alternate for Medina County.
- 4. Nominating Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez as a primary member for Medina County.
- 5. Nominating Chief Justin Soza as Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez's alternate for Medina County.
- 6. Nominating Maribell Neri as Hattie Allen's alternate for Gillespie County.

## 6. Program Updates:

- 1. Applications were submitted by 2/9 and Grant Summary Forms were submitted by 2/23
- 2. Applicants identified that did not attend workshop; contacted to be aware of regional process and requirements
- 3. Reviewed past 10 years of CJAC minutes to document when all primary members ioined the committee
- 4. REPAC reviewed and ranked applications for FY2024 State Homeland Security Program
- 5. Attended biannual TARC Conference in early February; confirmed that regional/state timelines will not change this year
- 6. Reached out to all judges with vacancies to submit nominations
- 7. Preliminary conflict of interest identification and scoring assignment review.
- 8. Items to be placed on next meeting's agenda:
  - 1. Membership re-nominations
  - 2. Review and scoring of FY2024 General Victim Assistance (VOCA) program
- 9. Next Meeting Date: April 11, 2023 8:30am
- 10. Announcements
- 11. Adjournment.

This meeting is accessible to people with disabilities. The accessible entrance is located at the front entrance of 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217. Accessible parking spaces are also available. Please contact AACOG for auxiliary aids and services for the hearing impaired, including interpreters for the deaf, at 210-362-5200 at least 48 hours prior to the meeting or by calling Texas Relay at 7-1-1 for assistance.