Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting Wednesday, Mar 8, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 4. Ms. Lisa Brothers
- 5. Ms. Mia Buentello-Garcia
- 6. Dr. David Carrothers
- 7. Dr. Allen Castro
- 8. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 9. Chief Linette Dury
- 10. Ms. Vickie Ernst
- 11. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 12. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 13. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 14. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 15. Ms. Brooke House
- 16. Ms. Shelly Jackson
- 17. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 18. Ms. Juanita Rodriguez-Cordero for Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 19. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 20. Ms. Vickie Adams for Ms. Abigail Moore
- 21. Ms. Melissa Padron
- 22. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 23. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry
- 24. Captain Michael Starnes
- 25. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 26. Ms. Brenda Trevino
- 27. Ms. Samantha Wohler

MEMBERS ABSENT:

- 1. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 2. Mr. Will Leal
- 3. Ms. Maribell Neril
- 4. Chief Johnny Reyes, Jr.

STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Mr. Matthew Reyes, Homeland Security Planner
- 3. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 4. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator

- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:35 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.
- **3. Public Comments:** There were no public comments.
- 4. Consider and act upon approval of the January 11th, 2023 Minutes.

A motion was made by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** and seconded by **Chief Linette Dury** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

- 5. Discussion and appropriate action on Re-nominating membership items:
 - 1. Renominating **Dennis Rosenberry** for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
 - 2. Renominating Eladia Torres for another term as a primary member for Wilson County.
 - 3. Renominating Audrey Lewis as Eladia Torres's alternate for Wilson County.
 - 4. Renominating **Nicole Bishop** for another term as a primary member for Kendall County.
 - 5. Renominating Glennda Wilke as Nicole Bishop's alternate for Kendall County.
 - 6. Renominating Shelly Jackson for another term as a primary member for Guadalupe County.
 - 7. Renominating Chief Bryan Hugghins as Shelly Jackson's alternate for Guadalupe County.
 - 8. Renominating Vickie Ernst for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
 - 9. Renominating Jennifer Forbes as Vickie Ernst's alternate for Bexar County.

10. Renominating **Chief Henry Dominguez** for another term as a primary member for Atascosa County.

- **11.** Renominating **Jessica Tom** as Chief Henry Dominguez's alternate for Atascosa County.
- **12.** Renominating Lt. Mary Krebs for another term as a primary member for Kerr County.
- **13.** Renominating **Constable Paul Gonzales** as Lt. Mary Krebs's alternate for Kerr County.
- **14.** Renominating **Hattie Allen** for another term as a primary member for Gillespie County.
- 15. Renominating Brian Vorauer as Hattie Allen's alternate for Gillespie County.

16. Renominating **Sheriff Buddy Mills** for another term as a primary member for Gillespie County.

- 17. Renominating Lt. Brian Pehl as Sheriff Buddy Mills' alternate for Gillespie County.
- **18.** Renominating **DA Joe Gonzalez** for another term as a primary member for Bexar County.
- **19.** Renominating **Ellen Wheeler-Walter** as DA Joe Gonzalez's alternate for Bexar County.

20. Renominating Chief Linette Dury for another term as a primary member for Medina County.

21. Renominating **Captain Danny Bowermaster** for another term as a primary member for Bandera County.

22. Renominating Alma Baker as Captain Danny Bowermaster's alternate for Bandera County.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** to approve the above membership items.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

Discussion and appropriate action on new membership items:

1. Nominating Monica Torres as Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison's alternate for Bexar County.

2. Nominating Roxanne Morales Gonzales as Dr. Allen Castro's alternate for Bexar County.

3. Nominating Frank Garcia as Chief Linette Dury's alternate for Medina County.

4. Nominating Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez as the primary representative for Medina County.

5. Nominating **Chief Justin Soza** as Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez's alternate for Medina County.

6. Nominating Maribell Neril as Hattie Allen's alternate for Gillespie County.

A motion was made by **Chief Linette Dury** and seconded by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** to approve the above membership items.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

6. Program Updates.

1. 86 applications were submitted and batched to us by 2/9 and grant summary forms were submitted by 2/23.

2. Applicants were identified that didn't attend workshop and were contacted to be aware of regional processes and requirements.

3. Reviewed past 10 years of CJAC minutes to document when all primary members joined the committee. This is how we determined who will be up for membership renewal. We will not do any new membership in April. Any new membership will be done in May.

4. REPAC reviewed and ranked applications for FY2024 State Homeland Security Program funding. These are listed on the AACOG website.

5. Attended biannual TARC conference in early February, confirmed that regional/state timelines will not change this year. Priority listings are due in May.

6. Reached out to all judges with vacancies to submit nominations.

7. Preliminary conflict of interest identification and scoring assignment review. Please let us know if you need to make any changes on your conflict of interest from the sheet that was provided to you.

8. Items to be placed on next Meeting's agenda

- **1.** Membership re-nominations that are still pending.
- 2. Review and scoring of FY2024 General Victim Assistance Program (VOCA).
- **9.** Next meeting date: April 11th, 2023, 2023 @8:30am. This is an all-day scoring with lunch provided. Please make sure you are there to have a quorum and then you can recuse yourself.

10. Announcements

None

11. Adjournment

A motion was made by Ms. Samantha Wohler and seconded by Chief Linette Dury to adjourn.

All approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:00pm.