Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting November 8, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Ms. Lisa Brothers
- 4. Judge Rochelle Camacho
- 5. Dr. David Carrothers
- 6. Ms. Rori Boone for Dr. Allen Castro
- 7. Chief Linette Dury
- 8. Ms. Vickie Ernst and Ms. Jennifer Forbes
- 9. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 10. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 11. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 12. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 13. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 14. Ms. Monica Torres for Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 15. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 16. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 17. Major Matthew Miller
- 18. Ms. Abigail Moore
- 19. Deputy Chief Armando Olguin
- 20. Ms. Marina Garcia for Ms. Melissa Padron
- 21. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 22. Captain Jerry Rios
- 23. Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez
- 24. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry and Mr. Mike Davis
- 25. Captain Michael Starnes
- 26. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 27. Ms. Brenda Trevino
- 28. Ms. Samantha Wohler
- 29. Mr. Renan Zambrano

MEMBERS ABSENT:

- 1. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 2. Sgt. Corey Delgado
- 3. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 4. Ms. Brooke House
- 5. Chief Lewis Lem

STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 3. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 4. Mr. Mitchell Mensinger, Homeland Security Planner

- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:35 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the October 11th, 2023, Minutes.

A motion was made by **Ms. Vickie Ernst** and seconded by **Chief Linette Dury** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

5. Program Updates

1. CJD Funding Announcements-

A funding announcement was received in Oct for Care Coordinators via the VOCA funding stream. If your agency did not receive an email regarding this announcement in Oct or November, please email AACOG staff so we can be sure you are on our distribution list.

2. New scoring tool is now in live testing and is scheduled to go live on December 1st, 2023-

The new platform is called Zengine II by WizeHive. Features include side-by-side visuals of the grant summary form and scoring tool, the ability to filter to any section of the summary form and will have the capability for the reviewer to see their individual scores in rank order prior to submitting scores. Cami will be reaching out to a couple CJAC members to test the reviewer side of things to ensure the platform is working correctly for scoring.

- 3. Invites for CJD Workshops will be sent out this month-They are December 18th, 2023 & January 4th, 2024.
- **4. Invites for the CJAC Scoring training workshops will be sent in a few weeks**Due to the new scoring platform, we will require everyone who is scoring to attend one of the training sessions this year if you are scoring. Two training workshops will be available. Feb 13th, 2024, and Mar 21st, 2024.
- 5. CJAC Member attendance-

CJAC meetings are offered virtually except for the two April Scoring and presentation meetings as well as one scoring training workshop. Those are required to be in person.

6. AACOG staff will be reaching out to our area judges to fill CJAC vacancies as soon as possible.

If you have an alternate you want to add then please notify AACOG staff.

- 6. Discussion and appropriate action on membership items:
 - **1.** Nominating **Chief Todd Perna** to replace Miriam Elizondo as Lisa Brother's alternate representative for Bexar County.

A motion was made by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** and seconded by **Captain Michael Starnes** to accept the above membership item.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

7. Nominations for Chair and Vice Chair positions.

There were 2 nominations for Chair: Hattie Allen was nominated by Dennis Rosenberry Ellen Wheeler-Walter was nominated by Dr Allen Castro There were no other nominations.

A motion was made by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** and seconded by **Chief Linette Dury** to close the nominations for Chair.

All Approved, Motion Carried

There were 3 nominations for Vice Chair:

Samantha Wohler and Andrea Goff-Fontanes were nominated by Dennis Rosenberry.

Jennifer Forbes was nominated by Elaida Torres.

There were no other nominations.

A motion was made by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** and seconded by **Deputy Robert Guerrero** to close the nominations for Vice Chair.

All Approved, Motion Carried

These will be voted on at the next meeting.

8. Announcements

None

9. Items to be placed on the next meeting's agenda.

- a. There will be action taken on the nominations for Chair and Vice Chair.
- 10. Next meeting date: December 13th, 2023 @1:30pm.

11. Adjournment

A motion was made by Ms. Vickie Ernst and seconded by Ms. Rosa Lavender to adjourn.

All approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 1:52.