# Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting October 11, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

# **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Ms. Miriam Elizondo for Ms. Lisa Brothers
- 4. Judge Rochelle Camacho
- 5. Dr. David Carrothers
- 6. Dr. Allen Castro
- 7. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 8. Chief Linette Dury
- 9. Ms. Vickie Ernst and Ms. Jennifer Forbes
- 10. Mr. Robert Saenz for Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 11. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 12. Deputy Robert Guerrero and Deputy Louis Lopez
- 13. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 14. Ms. Monica Torres for Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 15. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 16. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 17. Major Matthew Miller
- 18. Ms. Abigail Moore
- 19. Ms. Melissa Padron
- 20. Captain Jerry Rios
- 21. Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez
- 22. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry and Mr. Mike Davis
- 23. Captain Michael Starnes
- 24. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 25. Ms. Samantha Wohler

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

- 1. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 2. Sgt. Corey Delgado
- 3. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 4. Ms. Brooke House
- 5. Chief Lewis Lem
- 6. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 7. Ms. Brenda Trevino

### STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Ms. Cami Goldspink, Criminal Justice Planner
- 3. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 4. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 5. Mr. Mitchell Mensinger, Homeland Security Planner

- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:30 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

#### 3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the September 13<sup>th</sup>, 2023 Minutes.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Lt. Mary Krebs** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

## 5. Program Updates

1. CJAC Bylaws Review-

There were no bylaw reviews done. We will keep them as is for now.

- 2. No CJD Monthly Conference Call-
- **3. Updating contacts for potential grantees-**Staff is updating contact list for potential grantees.
- 4. Deepika Modali, SART Project Coordinator TAASA-

Provide Texas County SART Project update. 254 counties in TX have to have one. Bexar county does have one already. They must meet quarterly, that they have protocols in place, that every odd year they must submit a bi-annual report which must go to commissioner's court. Hope this gives insight on where counties are and where help is needed. Report will also go to TAASA and OOG.

5. Byrne-SCIP Stakeholder Survey Update-

Submissions were done. No updates on the surveys yet.

- 6. Grant workshops are scheduled for December 18th and January 4th, 2024.
- 7. Scoring trainings are scheduled for February 13<sup>th</sup> and March 21<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

  We are looking at a new platform for scoring which is more user friendly and more cost

effective. The scoring training this year will be mandatory to learn the new system and will be available the 2 different dates and times.

- 6. Discussion and appropriate action on membership items:
  - **1.** Nominating **Deputy Chief Armando Olguin** as primary replacing Chief johnny Reyes for Bexar County.
  - 2. Nominating Renan Zambrano as primary for Bexar County.
  - 3. Nominating Amber Palmer as alternate for Samantha Wohler for Judson ISD.
  - **4.** Nominating **Marina Garcia** as alternate for Melissa Padron for Karnes County.
  - **5.** Nominating **Tanya Gaitan** as alternate for Renan Zambrano for Bexar County.

A motion was made by **Dr. Allen Castro** and seconded by **Chief Henry Dominguez** to approve the above membership items.

# All Approved, Motion Carried.

- 7. Items to be placed on next meeting's agenda:
  - a. Give nominations for Chair and Vice Chair to Cami Goldspink.
  - b. Staff will get the funding award amounts for last year's funding streams.

# 8. Announcements:

None

9. Next meeting date: November 8th, 2023 @1:30pm.

# 10. Adjournment

A motion was made by Ms. Rosa Lavender and seconded by Captain Michael Starnes to adjourn.

All approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:14pm.