# Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting September 13, 2023 – 1:30 pm AACOG Titan 2700 NE Loop 410, San Antonio TX 78217 San Antonio Room

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 4. Ms. Lisa Brothers
- 5. Dr. David Carrothers
- 6. Ms. Rori Boone for Dr. Allen Castro
- 7. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 8. Mr. Frank Garcia for Chief Linette Dury
- 9. Ms. Jennifer Forbes for Ms. Vickie Ernst
- 10. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 11. Ms. Ellen Wheeler-Walter for D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 12. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 13. Lt. Mary Krebs
- 14. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 15. Ms. Monica Torres for Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 16. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 17. Major Matthew Miller
- 18. Ms. Abigail Moore
- 19. Ms. Melissa Padron
- 20. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 21. Mr. Dennis Rosenberry
- 22. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 23. Ms. Brenda Trevino and Ms. Kayla Trigo Prado
- 24. Ms. Samantha Wohler

# **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

- 1. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 2. Ms. Brooke House
- 3. Chief Johnny Reves
- 4. Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez
- 5. Captain Michael Starnes

#### STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Ms. Cami Goldspink, Criminal Justice Planner
- 3. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 4. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:30 by Mr. Dennis Rosenberry.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

#### 3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the May 10th, 2023 Minutes.

A motion was made by **Lt. Mary Krebs** and seconded by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

## 5. Program Updates

- 1. TARC Conference
  - a. Large cuts were made in VOCA funding. FY25 Going from \$120 Million to \$80 Million. The committee will need to adjust how they allocate money. May need to think about scoring differently and go by the merit of application instead of trying to fund as many projects as possible. We need to show the state that more money is needed in our region.
  - b. VOCA match is coming back in FY25.
- c. Forming protocols within all counties for SARTs. All Texas counties must have a sexual assault response team as of legislature in 2021. Staff will find out who all in our area has SARTs in place.
  - d. There was an overview of the Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program funding. This supports state crisis intervention court proceedings and related programs. There will be a survey going out to all COGS CJAC about this. Staff will let you know what we find out about when the survey will go out.
- 2. CJD Monthly Conference Call-

There was no call this month due to TARC.

3. Updating contacts and potential grantees-

Staff is updating contact list for potential grantees.

4. Vacancies to be filled-

We have 3, there are 2 in McMullen and 1 in Frio open.

5. Attendance monitoring update-

Starting fresh this season and we will keep a spreadsheet for all meetings.

## 6. Discussion and appropriate action on membership items:

- 1. Re-Nominating **Dr. Allen Castro** as a primary representative for Bexar County.
- 2. Re-Nominating Aurora "Rori" Boone as alternate for Dr. Allen Castro for Bexar County.
- **3.** Re-Nominating **Roxanne Morales Gonzalez** as 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate for Dr. Allen Castro for Bexar County.
- **1.** Nominating **Rhonda Williamson** as alternate replacing alternate Jessica Tom for Henry Dominguez for Atascosa County.
- **2.** Nominating **Officer Jeffrey McLaughlin** as 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate for Captain Michael Starnes for Bexar County.
- 3. Nominating Mike Davis as alternate for Dennis Rosenberry for Bexar County.
- 4. Nominating Judge Rochelle Camacho as primary for Frio County.
- 5. Nominating Chief Peter Salinas as alternate for Judge Rochelle Camacho for Frio County.
- 6. Nominating Captain Jerry Rios, replacing Shelly Jackson, as primary for Guadalupe County.

- 7. Nominating Chief Lewis Lem as primary for McMullen County.
- 8. Nominating **Sgt. Corey Delgado** as primary for McMullen County.
- 9. Nominating Sheriff Emmett Shelton as alternate for Chief Lewis Lem for McMullen County.
- **10.** Nominating **Deputy Norman Garza** as alternate for Sgt. Corey Delgado for McMullen County.
- 11. Nominating Robert Saenz as alternate for Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes for Bexar County.

The item #5 was tabled to next month.

A motion was made by **Ms. Jennifer Forbes** and seconded by **Ms. Abigail Moore** to approve the above membership items with exception of #5.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

# 7. Consider and act upon:

# A. Revision to Grant Application Guidelines:

Certain wording changes were made along with the below items:

These changes are under recommended budget caps:

- 1. JAG requests for position funding of five (5) or more consecutive years will be reduced by a tiered 20% each year over a five (5) year period until no further funding can be requested
- 2. CJAC recommends that application budget requests are below the following budget caps:
- JAG: \$75,000 maximum request from OOG; Non-profits \$50,000 maximum request from OOG
- JJDP: \$75,000 maximum request from OOG; Truancy Prevention Continuation projects may not exceed last year's requests4
- VAWA: \$75,000 maximum request from OOG
- VOCA: \$500,000 voluntary maximum request; Continuation projects may not exceed last year's requests
- 3. An agency staff representative must be present during the project proposal presentation on the day of scoring. Note: A contracted grant writer may not present on behalf of the agency applying for grant funds

A motion was made by **Lt. Mary Krebs** and seconded by **Chief Henry Dominguez** to approve the above guideline changes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

# B. Review and approval of the 2023-2024 Grantee Calendar.

A motion was made by **Mr. David Carrothers** and seconded by **Ms. Rosa Lavendar** to approve the Grantee Calendar.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

# 8. Items to be placed on next meeting's agenda:

- e. By-law revisions to discuss Chair & Vice Chair items.
- f. Survey

# 9. Announcements:

- 1. Judson ISD School safety training. Would appreciate anyone who wants to come out.
- 10. Next meeting date: October 11th, 2023 @1:30pm.

# 11. Adjournment

A motion was made by **Ms. Jennifer Forbes** and seconded by **Ms. Samantha Wohler to adjourn.** 

**All approved, the motion carried.** The meeting was adjourned at 2:20pm.